FAQ

Administration

Should I take a moving insurance?

A moving insurance is really recommended, especially for international removals. Moving accidents like broken chinaware, water damage can happen. Even if you hired the best moving company, you want to make sure that your goods are protected against damage and loss. Consider it a financial protection for a worst-case scenario. 

Which customs regulations do I need to submit when moving abroad?

When moving abroad, you want to make sure that you have the proper documents and necessary information to be able to enter the host country. In addition to a copy of your passport and visa, you will also need an inventory of the goods being shipped. Depending on the country you are moving to, you will need more specific documents. For more info about import documents per country, check out our blog post.

Costs

How much does an international relocation cost?

The cost of an international move depends on a few criteria/variables.

  • The size of the move. Do you intent to take all your household goods including furniture? Or are you moving to a furnished accommodation and only taking your personal belongings like clothes? Depending on how much you want to take with you, the budget will also increase or decrease. 
  • Destination. It won't come as a surprise but moving across the street will be less expensive that an Intra-European move or overseas move. The greater the distance, the more complex and expensive a move will be. So moving to Canada or Australia for example, would be a bigger cost than moving to France. 
  • Services. Another decisive factor is which services you would like to use. Do you only want to move your belongings abroad, or do you want additional services like storage, pet relocation, handyman service (to prepare for the exit survey) or electrician services (fordismantling and connecting light fixtures and chandeliers etc). These additional services will have an impact on the price.

General

How do I choose an international moving company?

If it is your first time moving internationally, you better take your time to do some careful research. After all, your moving company is shipping some of your most valuable items abroad. Your choice for an international moving partner depends also on the goods that you want to ship, the budget you have available and the level of service you expect. Depending on what your answer on these items is, the choice of a moving company might differ. 

The best way to choose an international moving company is via a personal recommendation of a friend, a neighbor or an acquaintance who has recently moved. Another option would be via an Internet review. The best is to consult objective platforms such as Google Reviews or Sirelo. If you relocate internationally on a regular basis, you know after a while which partner is best for you so you do not have to do the whole research again.

Why is a pre-move Survey important?

A pre-move survey is the best way to obtain information to prepare a removal quote. It is not only a way to show us your items, it is also a perfect moment to understand the moving service, schedule the moving dates, understand the customs documents and answer all your questions related to your upcoming international relocation. 

When is the best time to move?

If you can choose your international moving period, it would be recommended to avoid the summer period. This is peak season in the international removal industry. Therefore, moving companies will have much more capacity from mid September to the end of May. The same applies to the end of each month. Since lease contracts expire then, this is the most desirable time to move each month. 

When choosing your pack dates, try not to squeeze the number of days. Allowing the packing crew 2-3 days instead of 1 day, will not increase the price. The only thing that will increase is your stress level.

What are the quality standards at Compas?

Quality is the thread of our story. You will therefore find this quality in several aspects of our service:

  • Direct communication: we try to establish a real partnership with our clients by communicating directly with them and establishing an inter-dependent relationship. 
  • Continious improvement: we understand that quality must be constantly reviewed. That is why we constantly try to improve ourselves.
  • Engaging employees: our employees are the core of our organisation. Making them part of the decision making process, helps them to feel connected with our customers. 

More about our commitment via this link

Logistics

How long does an international move take?

When moving Internationally it is important to have realistic expectations regarding the timing. International moving companies are not courier companies like DHL and Fedex and they can only offer estimated dates. There are some moving companies promising overnight deliveries or meeting dates. The one tip we want to give here is do not get fooled by companies that make such promises they can not keep.

Estimating a time of arrival depends on several factors. For example for an intra-European road shipment we need to take the driver's restrictions into consideration. When moving overseas there is other factors and stakeholders involved like the shipping line, customs...

We always try to be as transparant as possible regarding the estimated delivery. We think good communication is extremely important during an international move.

Which transport options are available for moving my belongings abroad?

An international move can be done via road shipment, sea freight or air freight. Road shipments are the most common mode of transportation for Intra-European moves. One of the benefits of this mode of transportation is that no customs documents are needed for transport within the EU. What should be taken into account here is that the moving schedule can be affected by road works and traffic.

If you are moving overseas you can choose between an air or sea shipment. Via sea shipment you will be able to move a large volume at a reasonable price, while having a worldwide coverage. Air shipment on the other hand, is faster than sea shipment. It has more reliable departure and arrival dates, but it is also much more expensive than a sea shipment.

Compas is happy to provide you with more information about which transport option is best for you. 

 

Which items are prohibited for international shipment?

A very important aspect of moving internationally is considering the restricted and prohibited items list. By violating these rules, you risk that your items are send back to the country of origin or that they are being destroyed. Depending on which country you are moving to, the rules on restricted items might differ. In our blog article, we listed 18 items not allowed to ship.

Will Compas do the packing and unpacking for me?

We sure will. Moreover, we do it very carefully. Professional packing and unpacking is an important part of our service. Our professional packing process consists of the following items: 

  • We avoid any damages on your property by using floor protection
  • We use a packing app to keep track of the inventory
  • We use special styrofoam insulating cartons to avoid that your alcohol goes bad
  • With our tailor-made crates, we ensure that your valuable items stay in excellent condition
What can I do with items that I do not want to take with me?

Just before you move internationally, you should carefully consider which items you want to take to the new country and which items you want to sell, give to charity, or put in storage. We can help you find a good balance in this.


FIDI IAM PAIMA AMR FEDEMAC

FAQ

Administration

Dois-je prendre une assurance déménagement?

L'assurance déménagement est vraiment recommandée, surtout pour les déménagements internationaux. Des accidents de déménagement comme de la vaisselle cassée ou des dégâts d'eau peuvent se produire. Même si vous avez engagé la meilleure entreprise de déménagement, vous voulez vous assurer que vos biens sont protégés contre les dommages et les pertes. Pensez-y comme une protection financière pour le pire des scénarios.

Quels documents douaniers dois-je présenter si je déménage à l'étranger ?

Lorsque vous vous installez à l'étranger, vous voulez vous assurer que vous disposez des bons documents et des informations nécessaires pour entrer dans le pays d'accueil. En plus d'une copie de votre passeport et de votre visa, vous aurez également besoin d'un inventaire des marchandises à expédier. En fonction du pays dans lequel vous déménagez, vous aurez besoin de documents plus spécifiques. Pour plus d'informations sur les documents d'importation par pays, veuillez lire notre article de blog.

Coûts

Combien coûte un déménagement international?

Le coût d'un déménagement international dépend d'un certain nombre de critères/variables.

  • L'ampleur du déménagement. Prévoyez-vous d'emporter tout votre contenu, y compris les meubles? Ou bien vous déménagez dans une maison meublée et n'emportez que vos effets personnels, comme des vêtements? En fonction de la quantité que vous souhaitez emporter avec vous, le budget augmentera ou diminuera également. 
  • La destination. Ce ne sera pas une surprise, mais un déménagement en face de chez vous sera moins coûteux qu'un déménagement intra-européen ou outre-mer. Plus la distance est grande, plus le déménagement sera complexe et coûteux. 
  • Services. Un autre facteur déterminant est le choix des services que vous souhaitez utiliser. Souhaitez-vous uniquement déménager vos biens à l'étranger ou souhaitez-vous également faire appel à des services supplémentaires tels que le stockage, le déplacement d'animaux domestiques, le service de bricolage (pour préparer l'état des lieux de sortie) ou les services d'un électricien (pour le démontage et le raccordement d'appareils d'éclairage et de lustres, etc.) Ces services supplémentaires auront toujours un impact sur le prix.

Général

Comment choisir une société de déménagement international?

Si c'est la première fois que vous déménagez à l'étranger, il est préférable de prendre le temps de faire quelques recherches. Après tout, votre entreprise de déménagement expédiera certains de vos objets les plus précieux à l'étranger. Le choix d'un partenaire de déménagement international dépend également des choses que vous souhaitez expédier, du budget que vous avez en tête et du niveau de service que vous attendez. En fonction de votre réponse à ces points, le choix d'une entreprise de déménagement peut être différent. 

La meilleure façon de choisir une entreprise de déménagement international est de se faire recommander par un ami, un voisin ou une connaissance qui a récemment déménagé. Une autre option consiste à consulter des plateformes d'évaluation comme Google Reviews ou Sirelo. Si vous vous déplacez régulièrement à l'étranger, au bout d'un certain temps, vous saurez quel partenaire vous convient le mieux et vous n'aurez pas à faire toute la recherche à chaque fois.

Pourquoi une enquête préalable au déménagement est-elle importante ?

Une enquête préalable au déménagement est le meilleur moyen d'obtenir les informations nécessaires pour préparer un devis de déménagement. C'est non seulement un moyen de nous montrer vos affaires, mais aussi le moment idéal pour comprendre le service de déménagement, planifier les dates de déménagement, comprendre les documents douaniers et répondre à toutes vos questions concernant votre prochain déménagement international.

Quel est le meilleur moment pour déménager ?

Si vous pouvez choisir pleinement la période de votre déménagement international, il est conseillé d'éviter la période estivale. C'est la haute saison dans le secteur du déménagement international. Les entreprises de déménagement disposeront donc d'une capacité beaucoup plus importante de la mi-septembre à la fin mai. Il en va de même pour la fin de chaque mois. Comme les baux expirent à ce moment-là, c'est le moment le plus propice pour déménager chaque mois. 

En outre, il est préférable de choisir plusieurs jours d'emballage lorsque vous planifiez. Donner à l'équipe d'emballage 2 ou 3 jours au lieu d'un jour n'augmentera pas le prix. La seule chose qui va augmenter est votre niveau de stress.

Quelles sont les normes de qualité en vigueur chez Compas?

La qualité est le fil conducteur de notre histoire. Vous retrouverez cette qualité dans différents aspects de notre service :

  • Communication directe: nous essayons de construire un véritable partenariat avec nos clients en communiquant directement avec eux et en établissant une relation d'interdépendance. 
  • Amélioration continue: nous comprenons que la qualité doit être examinée en permanence. C'est pourquoi nous essayons de nous améliorer en permanence.
  • Participation des employés: nos employés sont le cœur de notre organisation. En leur permettant de participer au processus de décision, ils se sentent également liés à nos clients. 

Vous pouvez trouver plus d'informations sur notre engagement ici.

Logistique

Combien de temps dure un déménagement international ?

Dans le cas des déménagements internationaux, il est important d'avoir des attentes réalistes en matière de délais. Les sociétés de déménagement international ne sont pas des sociétés de messagerie comme DHL et Fedex et elles ne peuvent pas donner plus que des dates cibles. Ne vous laissez pas tromper par les entreprises qui font des promesses qu'elles ne peuvent pas tenir.

L'estimation de l'heure d'arrivée dépend de plusieurs facteurs. Pour un transport routier intra-européen par exemple, nous devons tenir compte des limites du conducteur. Pour le transport outre-mer, il y a d'autres parties prenantes dont nous devons tenir compte, comme la compagnie maritime, les douanes, etc. Nous essayons toujours d'être aussi transparents que possible quant à l'estimation de la livraison. Une bonne communication est donc extrêmement importante. 

Quelles sont les options de transport disponibles pour déménager mes biens à l'étranger?

Un déménagement international peut être effectué par transport routier, maritime ou aérien. Le transport routier est le moyen de transport le plus courant pour les déménagements intra-européens. L'un des avantages est qu'aucun document douanier n'est nécessaire pour le transport au sein de l'UE. Toutefois, vous devez tenir compte du fait que le calendrier du déménagement peut être influencé par les travaux routiers et la circulation.

Si vous déménagez oute-mer, vous pouvez choisir entre le fret aérien et le fret maritime. Le fret maritime vous permet de déplacer un grand volume à un prix raisonnable, tout en bénéficiant d'une couverture mondiale. Le fret aérien d'autre part, est plus rapide que le fret maritime et les dates de départ et d'arrivée sont plus fiables, mais il est beaucoup plus cher que le fret maritime. Compas se fera un plaisir de vous fournir de plus amples informations sur le mode de transport qui vous convient le mieux. 

Quels sont les articles interdits pour les envois internationaux?

Un aspect très important d'un déménagement international est la prise en compte de la liste des objets interdits. En effet, si vous enfreignez ces règles, vous courez le risque de voir vos biens renvoyés dans le pays d'origine ou détruits. Selon le pays dans lequel vous déménagez, les règles relatives aux articles interdits peuvent différer. Dans notre article de blog, vous trouverez 18 articles que vous n'êtes pas autorisé à expédier.

Compas s'occupera-t-il de l'emballage et du déballage pour moi?

Nous le faisons certainement. Et nous le faisons très soigneusement. Un emballage et un déballage professionnels constituent une partie importante de notre service. Notre processus d'emballage professionnel comprend les éléments suivants : 

  • Nous évitons les dommages à vos biens en utilisant des protections de sol.
  • Nous utilisons une application d'emballage pour suivre l'inventaire.
  • Nous utilisons des boîtes isolantes spéciales en polystyrène pour éviter que l'alcool ne se détériore.
  • Avec nos caisses sur mesure, nous nous assurons que vos objets de valeur restent en excellent état.
Que puis-je faire des articles que je ne veux pas emporter avec moi ?

Juste avant de déménager à l'étranger, vous devez réfléchir aux objets que vous souhaitez emporter dans votre nouveau pays et à ceux que vous souhaitez vendre, donner à une œuvre de bienfaisance ou stocker. Nous pouvons vous aider à trouver un bon équilibre à cet égard.


FIDI IAM PAIMA AMR FEDEMAC